Bret Lott’s “Genesis”

In Bret Lott’s essay “Genesis” Bret thinks about the first time he received a bible. Not only that but Bret also reminisces about the first time he wrote his name on that first bible. This in my opinion can be somewhat symbolic. The fact that Bret wrote his name for the first time on his first bible could be the beginning of Brett realizing his identity in Christ. I remember the very first time I had written my name and I remember just how sloppy it looked the first time I wrote it. But after growing up and getting some practice my handwriting has turned out to be some very nice hand writing for a guy at least.  But just like Brett he started of with bad handwriting and over time he became better at it and is now a well known writer. I think this is essay tells us a few stories of Bret’s “beginnings” what I mean about beginnings is that this story tells us about the first time he got a bible and then the first time he wrote his name on that bible which ultimately resulted in Bret figuring out who his identity was in Jesus Christ. The title of this essay fits nicely with the overall meaning of this essay. Genesis is known for it’s “In the beginning” start. Our lives are full of Genesis’ every experience we have gone through started with a beginning and when we die one day we will encounter a new beginning.

By harrisonmitch24

2 comments on “Bret Lott’s “Genesis”

  1. I remember when I first wrote my name in English. It was so sloppy and messy. I kept practicing and one day wrote my name on the side of the bible.
    I like how you connected writing Brett’s name as a first footstep to finding his identity in Christ.
    I also like how you analyzed the title of the article too.
    Good Job!

Leave a Reply

